Beauty · Declutter · Fashion · Rant · Social Issues

Your Trash Is NOT Charity

I am CHEAP. I am not going to sugarcoat the truth and employ any of the other many euphemisms that exist such as frugal or economical. However, no matter how cheap I may be I arbor the concept of hating ‘wasteful’ people. Now I am not arguing against reduce negative ecological impact and I am the greatest critic of food waste. I am discussing a different version of ‘wastefulness’.

I personally have nothing against decluttering products, beauty or otherwise, I barely use. I also do not hold onto items for nostalgic reasons. However, I have paused and felt guilt when decluttering beauty products due to the rage many makeup users would feel if I was seen throwing out my unwanted makeup, as demonstrated on social media.

I grew up poor. I would not classify myself as rich or even middle class to this day, but my family and I generally struggle a little less day to day. I know what it is like to have nothing. I know the struggle. I still experience the struggle. I would not consider the angered people anyone but sheltered princesses who know nothing about being poor, and I am furious.donate

Over time I have realised how stupid I was to feel pressured to use everything lest be judged by a stranger. You may or not be aware that it’s fairly common for people in the makeup forums and social media users to insist unwanted makeup be donated to women’s shelters and anyone who does not is a monster. While I am an enthusiastic fan of helping shelters, I get annoyed at those comments because that is not how shelters work.

Shelters CANNOT accept anything they cannot guarantee the sanitation of. As most are drastically underfunded and rely on volunteers, shelters do not have the time nor resources to sanitise it themselves. Reading those comments showcase to me that the person typing has no idea how charities work. It takes a lot of time and energy to sort donations. Junk donations INCREASE the cost of running nonprofits.

poorPeople who have never done any charity work or have been poor argue that the poor should accept whatever crap generously thrown at them. Many would rather believe the self indulgent fantasy of being a kind benefactor who magically changed a homeless person’s life by giving them the equivalent of a half chewed sandwich.

It is absolutely fine to throw out things you do not need because it is mostly things no one would willingly accept. If you have given it away, you are really just offloading your trash to someone else who then has to dispose of it. If the items are in a good condition then resell or gift to a friend, but consider long and hard before you do.

The best approach for all nonprofits is to call and ask if your donation can be used or what is needed instead. The assumption that “every bit helps” exists to combine with the belief that the poor should be thankful for anything they get. The poor are not a rubbish bin. If they were not wearing that make up, then that item would have gone straight into the trash. By forcing themselves to use and ‘appreciate’ these items, they were treating their bodies as a trash can for the ease of your conscience.

2 thoughts on “Your Trash Is NOT Charity

  1. This was wonderful. People never really think about things they’re donating. They’re hearts in the right place, but they little to no research on charities and that’s a big problem.

    Sosadventurestills.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

