Beauty · Fashion · POV · Skincare · Social Issues

There Are Implications

I have often been told I take everything too seriously, and that may be a valid critique but it should be acknowledged that this statement is typically meant to derail any comments/ arguement I have about a particular topic.

In this case of the beauty industry, my criticisms are often dismissed by being too serious for what is an enjoyable hobby/ more frivolous activity (although frivolous categorization reeks of misogyny), but the beauty industry is a business like any other. The beauty industry has the good fortune to  wrapped in shiny and new that helps conceal the more negative aspects.

Therefore I’m here to declare that sometimes I take makeup, skincare and other aspects of the beauty industry seriously because it can be very serious. There are implications and reactions to actions. Yes, makeup is fun and can be very enjoyable but it’s also important to me not to ignore the impact it has on myself and others.

Leave a Reply

